“A wealth of talent to choose from for the 2014 Sport Northern Ireland Coaching Awards”…

The winners of the 2014 Coaching Awards were as follows:

Graham Knox – Children’s Coach of the Year 2014
Banbridge Swimming Club
“The role Graham plays in encouraging participation, development and excellent in the sport of swimming is priceless. He’s a natural coach, a pleasure to watch at poolside because you can clearly see that the swimmers understand, enjoy and excel with his style of coaching.”

Danny Gallagher – Community Coach of the Year
Sion Swifts Football Club
“Danny’s coaching at Sion Swifts FC and the local area has made a significant impact with thousands of kids and adults benefitting from his simple philosophy of “give them every opportunity to play football, make friends and have fun and their talent will flourish.”

Kathleen McNaught – Young Coach of the Year
Samurai Uladh Judo Club
“Kathleen is a truly inspirational young coach, who leads by example and inspires our younger club members to be all that they can be. What was once a relatively quiet hall is now crammed with kids and the sound of enjoyment and laughter each week, thanks to Kathleen’s energy, ideas and novel style of coaching judo to young children.”

Kim Kensett Friar (Gymnastics) – Female Coach of the Year
City of Lisburn Salto Gymnastics Club
“Kim’s dedication to gymnastics has been immense with huge personal sacrifices made to better the sport and enable her gymnasts to achieve excellent results this year at Northern Europeans, Celtic Cup, Commonwealth Games Invitational and European Championship.”

Joe Graham – Disability Coach of the Year
Fermanagh Boccia Club and Lightning Powerchair Football Club
“Joe has shown huge commitment and given selflessly of his time during the past 12 months traveling a 4 hour round trip weekly from his home in Fermanagh to coach the Powerchair Football Club in Lisburn and also with the Ulster Boccia Squad and seeking no reward other than seeing smiles on the faces of his players and improvements in their performances.”

Emma Gorman – Talent Development Coach of the Year
City of Lisburn Salto Gymnastics Club
“Emma has spent her life dedicated to the sport of gymnastics. For the past few years she has been passing her considerable knowledge and talent for the sport onto the gymnasts that she coaches and has become an outstanding role model for them to look up to for support, for guidance and friendship”

Tom Causer – High Performance Coach of the Year
Ulster Badminton
“Tom is the most dedicated coach out there. Always open-minded and willing to learn, Tom has significantly improved the standard of coaching and attitudes of badminton players in Ulster, showing them that they can really achieve if they remain committed.”

Curriculum Sports Programme – Coaching Project of the Year
Irish Football Association and Ulster Council Gaelic Athletic Association
“The delivery of the programme has been excellent and this kind of accessibility is exactly what we need if we are to help our children grow healthy and enjoy sport and physical activity right through into adulthood.”

Nominees – Coaching Awards 2014

Children’s Coach Community Coach Disability Coach
Adrian Fulton Brian McGrath Gwen Garrett
Alan Elwood Bruce Irwin Hazel Coates
Cathal Fegan Chloe Mulhern Heather Ardis
Claire Gallagher Danny Gallagher Joe Graham
Conor James Keenan Dermot Mathers Martin Carney
Dougie Bell Mark O’Neill Paul Callaghan
Graham Knox MJ Maglanoc Paul McKillop
Joe McMahon Paddy Kelly William McMillan
Mary Robinson Roy Skillen
Olive Wallace Seamus Fanthorpe
Paddy Kelly Shane McCann
Paul McKillop Tommy Stevenson
Ronnie Morton
Ryan McQuillan
Seamus Curran
Shannon Garvin


Female Coach Young Coach Coaching Project
Julie Hinds Joel Harper Accrediting Programmes on the QCF
Kim Kensett Friar Kathleen McNaught An Riocht ‘Mol an Oige’
Olive Kee Antrim Viking Minis
Sonya Thomson Banbridge HC Junior Programme
Basketball NI Girls Academy
Community Activity Programme
Curriculum Sports Programme
Sika Gymnastics Club


Talent Development High Performance
Alison Mastin Moore Ann-Marie Dalton
Dane Ward Johnny McKinstry
Eddie Cooper Johnny Foster
Emma Gorman Kate Carpenter
Erroll Lutton Kelley Fay
Graeme Stewart Mark Tumilty
John Armstrong Nelson Lindsay
Kenny McCloughan Paul McKee
Paul McKee Stephen Watt
Richard Fairman Sun Jie
Terry McCorran
Tom Causer
Tony Scullion