Exciting news for local communities as Sport Northern Ireland announces it will be investing £693,000 into developing grassroots sports projects across Northern Ireland’s eleven local council areas.

The Every Body Active 2020: Small Grants Programme is funded from the Department for Communities. It aims to support projects which contribute to addressing continued under-representation in sport and physical activity amongst targeted groups, such as women and girls, people with a disability and people living in areas of greatest need.

Sport Northern Ireland will be working closely with the 11 local councils to roll out the small grants programme, who will lead on the initiatives in their areas.

The total funding available under the programme includes a £100,000 invetsment, in support of the Active Living: No Limits 2016-21 Action Plan, to help people with disabilities lead active and healthy lifestyles through sport and physical activity.

Sport Northern Ireland Chair George Lucas commented:

“Sport NI is delighted to be investing neary £700,000 into local grassroots sports projects through our Every Body Active 2020 Programme. We want to see Northern Ireland continue to develop as a place where people enjoy, engage and excel in sport and physical activity. Through working in partnership with all eleven local councils, I am confident we help to make a change in helping people get active, and particularly those groups who traditionally have been less likely to participate.”

Applications for three councils are currently open:

  • Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council – for more information please click here (applications due to close Friday 15th September 2017)
  • Derry City and Strabane District Council – for more information please click here (applications due to close Friday 29th September 2017)
  • Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council – for more information please click here (applications due to close end of February 2018).
  • Applications for Lisburn City and Castlereagh Borough Council will open on Monday 11th September 2017.

Any interested organisations can find out more information on small grants programmes in their areas by contacting the relevant council representative noted below;

Council Area Contact Name Email
Antrim & Newtownabbey Janine Beazley Janine.beazley@antrimandnewtownabbey@gov.uk
Ards & North Down Craig Connor Craig.connor@ardsandnorthdown.gov.uk
Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon Gillian Dewart Gillian.dewart@armaghbanbridgecraigavon@gov.uk
Belfast Paddy Mc Grattan mcgrattanp@belfastcity.gov.uk
Causeway Coast & Glens Damien Mc Afee Damian.mcafee@causewaycoastandglens.gov.uk
Derry & Strabane Aidan Lynch Aiden.lynch@derrycityandstrabane.gov.uk
Fermanagh & Omagh Keith Collen Keith.collen@fermanaghomagh.com
Lisburn & Castlereagh Kevin Madden Kevin.Madden@lisburncastlereagh.gov.uk
Mid & East Antrim Katrina Mc Caughan Katrina.McCaughan@midandeastantrim.gov.uk
Mid Ulster Eunan Murray Eunan.Murray@midulstercouncil.org
Newry, Mourne & Down Ciara Lowe ciara.lowe@nmandd.org

Please note all projects must be completed by 31st March 2018.